The home run with Mum

My “gap year” as it’s called has sadly come to an end – 360 days away and once again I’m back home. For both good and bad.

It’s strange being back for sure, in one way it’s great seeing family and friends again but it’s also so much more boring. After being home for two weeks I’ve enjoyed relaxing in a way that’s not possible when you’re on the road, and I love watching the cricket again.

The last three weeks of my trip I spent with Mum who flew halfway across the world to see me. It really was such a perfect way to conclude my time away. I am thrilled that I got to act as tour guide and show her around the Canadian Rockies for two weeks and then another few days in Hawaii.

I certainly got her straight into adventurous trips…we jumped in a freezing cold lake, crawled into a cave, climbed a couple of mountains, rowed a boat, and did lots of hikes – even encountering a couple of moose.

It’s fantastic that we both share a strong appreciation of nature and she got to discover how beautiful mountains actually can be.

Mum climbed her first mountain

Mum climbed her first mountain, a solid eight hour day
Stumbling upon this couple was a lucky surprise
Stumbling upon this moose couple was a lucky surprise
Maligne Lake on a stunning October day
Maligne Lake on a stunning October day
More of the Rockies
More of the Rockies

As Hawaii is directly over the flight path home we thought why not stop over for a few days. So we did. We attempted Hawaii’s most famous hike – the Kalalau Trail which is on the north side of the island of Kauai. It follows the rugged Na Pali coastline which made for hard work going up and down, and through slippery mud.

The Na Pali coastline
The dramatic Na Pali coastline

We made it to the first camp after 5 hours which was 10km down the trail – sunset put an end to any plans of pushing on to the beach, another 6km away. Mum was happy about that!

Following that hike we didn’t have much time for anything other than a quick swim in the crystal clear Hawaiian waters and before we knew it we were flying home.

Mahalo (Hawaiian for thanks/regards)
Mahalo (Hawaiian for thanks/regards)

Now that my big trip is over my posts will become a little more sporadic. Whenever there’s an adventurous trip though, you know it will be told on here. My next big trip in mind is cycling the length of New Zealand, Mahalo!

5 thoughts on “The home run with Mum”

  1. Hi Dan, thanks fpr all the traveling inspirations along the way 🙂 Can not wait to get to Canada one day 🙂 Best wishes, Christiane

  2. I have enjoyed your Blog heaps Dan. So nice to read your last one from your big trip and your appreciation of your Mum…just so nice…you 2 are very lucky to have had such an awesome experience together and a memory made now forever…this will be very special to you in the future.

  3. Thanks Dan. I had the absolute best time with you in Canada. You were the best tour guide ever and so patient and encouraging on the climbs.
    My least fav was Na Pali in Hawaii and sleeping on the thin mattress was a sleepless night. I dont know how you slept on the hard ground that night.
    You showed me the beauty of the mountains.
    These special memories with you I will treasure forever. Love Mum.

Put your thoughts here...

