The F1 weekend in Montreal

WahhhhhhhhHHH SHOOOOMMM pop pop pop pop pop rrrrrrrrrrrrrrr wahhhhh wahhhhhhhHHH mmmmmmmmmm

The insanely loud noise of an F1 car is impossible to recreate in words but that’s my best attempt at imitating what it sounds like being passed by a 300km/h moving object and braking down to 70km/h in just 100 metres, rounding the hairpin and accelerating back up to 240km/h before it’s whining disappears behind me again.

This was my view of the race. Here's Vettel streaking away to a win on lap 2.
This was my sight and sound position. Here’s Vettel streaking away to a win on lap 2.

I’ve watched F1 for the last couple of seasons so it was fantastic to actually be here and experience the sights and sounds for real this time. The sounds are so loud in fact that even if you’re 10 km away you can still hear when the F1 cars are on track!

These so called “cars” have more similarities to a fighter jet than a road car. Some numbers just blow your mind…like 0-160km/h and back to 0 in less than 5 seconds and 0-300km/h in 9 seconds.

Rosberg's Mecedes
Nico Rosberg’s Mercedes
Look at me, I'm on TV
Look at me, I’m on TV
At the podium after the race
At the podium after the race

Coming to Montreal was also my first venture into a city where English is not the first language. It was strange catching a bus and seeing every ad in French, and listening to everyone around speaking French, but also fun to pick up more and more French words at time goes on.

Bonjour – hello, Merci – thankyou, Seel vu play – please, Oui – yes, Non – no, Bon appetite – enjoy your meal, Ouvert – open, Ferme – closed.

I stayed with a local Montreal couple, Marie and Charles, and they took me on a really awesome tour of the historical Old Port area. Charles is a history teacher and his knowledge is amazing.

Montreal was founded in 1642, a few decades after Toronto. I saw the first bank in Canada, the first building in Montreal, and Victorian, French and British styles of buildings side by side.

The amazing Notre Dame Cathedral in Old Port Montreal. Celine Dion got married here.
The amazing Notre Dame Cathedral in Old Port Montreal. Celine Dion got married here.
This is the first bank in Canada!
This is the first bank in Canada!
Me with my couch surfing hosts Charles and Marie
Me with my couchsurfing hosts Charles and Marie in front of City Hall
One thought on “The F1 weekend in Montreal”

  1. Loving the imitation of the F1 sound. i wasn’t sure of the pop pop pop but I guess that shifting down gears into the corner? And yes, if you say so, “At the podium after the race” I love that photo!

Put your thoughts here...

