Rugged beauty of Gros Morne, Newfoundland

How did I decide on Gros Morne National Park of all places?

Well it started with meeting a fellow traveller back in Jasper a few months ago. He has been travelling the world for 47 years and he shared some of his wisdom with me…

“There’s three gems in Canada. Those are Tofino, Jasper and the west coast of Newfoundland.”

I’d been to Tofino and Jasper and love both places so I was keen to make the hat-trick.

I watched a documentary about Gros Morne and saw a few pictures on the net and I was pretty much sold. It’s the only place in Canada where you can find breathtaking Scandinavian-like fjords and glacier carved valleys.

I spent four full days here and got a solid dose of what the locals call “caplin weather” which is just like you see in the pictures below – cold, foggy, low clouds and some rain.

It’s interesting though. Caplin are a fish and every year in June the caplin come into Bonne Bay by the thousands to spawn. A week or so before they arrive the weather changes so it’s like a signal for everyone in town.

I did some muddy miles through some awesome trails in the few days I had. The Green Gardens showcased just why Newfoundland’s west coast is so eye catching. I had fun chasing some random sheep along this trail and also finding a big sea cave. Sounds like the setting for a “Famous Five” novel doesn’t it? It’s also the day I walked 40km!

Being here without a car I also had my first experiences hitch hiking. All my experiences were positive. It’s funny the day I hitched my way to western brook pond I took rides on a ferry, bus then a hummer.

The longer I was there the better the weather got and my last couple of days were actually pretty nice. Was great to feel the sun again, but regardless of the weather – rain, hail or shine this place is a sight to behold.

The Woody Point lighthouse built in 1959.
The Woody Point lighthouse built in 1959.
This sums up Newfoundland in one shot. Fishing boat, nets, crab pots, an old sea shack, a natural inlet and of course the unpredictable weather.
This sums up Newfoundland in one shot. Fishing boat, nets, crab pots, an old sea shack, a natural inlet and of course the unpredictable weather.
Inge and I take a seat with a view. The red mountains on the left are the "tablelands" which is the earth's oceanic crust (mantle) that has been pushed to the surface.
Inge from Belgium gave my a ride and we did this trail (Trout River pond) together. The red mountains on the left are the “tablelands” which is the earth’s oceanic crust (mantle) that has been pushed to the surface. A really rare occurrence.
One hellava big entry to this sea cave on the green gardens trail
One hellava big entry to this sea cave on the green gardens trail
The green gardens coastal walk showed up the rugged beauty Newfoundland is famous for.
The green gardens coastal walk showed up the rugged beauty Newfoundland is famous for.
Baa baa black sheep...oh you do have some wool
Baa baa black sheep…oh you do have some wool. Lots of wool.
Happy to have made it on time for the boat tour thanks to my trusty sign
Happy to have made it to the boat tour in time thanks to my trusty sign
Western brook pond boat tour
Western brook pond boat tour
The wind really got going in western brook
The wind really got going in western brook
9 thoughts on “Rugged beauty of Gros Morne, Newfoundland”

  1. Didn’t know you were hitch hiking. That was good. You must have sold your car. Great photos. Lv mum

  2. Great photos! My girlfriend and I are headed to Gros Morne next week and were wondering how easy you found the hitchhiking? Any experiences of getting stuck in one place for ages? Any places you just couldn’t get to?

    1. Hi Robin, that’s great to hear. You’ll love Gros Morne. Yeah to answer your question hitch hiking was very do-able. I hitch hiked 4 times and got a ride within half an hour every time. I had a sign and found that works faster. Stands out and connects to drivers i guess. Let me know how you go after the trip. I’d be interested to hear. Just add a comment here.

  3. Great pictures of Western Brook Pond! My bestfriend and I just did the 5 day hike that begins at the end of the pond, the Long Range Traverse, it was unbelievable. I’m so happy to see other people discovering the beauty of Gros Morne National Park.

Put your thoughts here...

