Driving dilemmas

What’s it’s like learning to drive on the other side of the road?

Very very strange for the first week!

At first the weirdest thing wasn’t driving on the right (as you would expect), but sitting on the left side of the car and changing gears with your right hand! I found myself unintentionally drifting towards the right – so that I was over the right wheel path and gear changes were so slow.

ll
Rubber floor mats are perfect for the snow melting off your boots
ll
Same layout but different side

I also had pedestrians wildly waving at me when I started down a one way street in the wrong direction.

And other times I went to turn into the left lane from a T intersection, but realised my mistake in time…the oncoming cars are a good indicator.

After a month as a Canadian driver I thought I had got the hang of things…until today!!! Donny and I had just explored this amazing ice canyon when I got bogged…then locked the keys in the car with the engine running.  It was an hours walk back to a phone where we called a tow truck. What a day.

Other quirky Canadian driving phenomena are:

No roundabouts – instead they use 4 way stop intersections (so slow, but cheaper to build I guess)
Turning right at a red light is legal
Cars always stop and give way to pedestrians (something us Aussies never do)
It’s law to have your headlights on at all times

Snow drifts – where snow blows across the road in fascinating ripples

Before you can drive you need to scrape/brush the ice/snow off the glass

ll
Sometimes its just snow but here it’s ice

And there’s these big snow ploughs that hoot along

Snow plough chasing me
Snow plough chasing me
4 thoughts on “Driving dilemmas”

  1. I love the photo of the snow plough chasing you – looks scary.

    Sounds overall great fun but.

    How do you reckon the S plow driver knows where the edge of the road is?

    BTW, Colin from the bottom of Alfred Street says hi.

  2. Interesting, dangerous and exciting all the same. Question; who took the photo of the snow plough out the rear? Is it legal to take photo’s at the wheel?

Put your thoughts here...

