Sleeping in an igloo

Some would say crazy, others stupid but I say why not? Yes it was cold and I had a terrible sleep but now I’ve slept in an ice box and lived to tell the tale.

It was a little chilly outside, a crisp -16 (it was in the -20’s the night before). I never found out what the reading was inside but I’ll put it this way… even dressed like I was going skiing and in a double sleeping bag it was on the colder side of comfortable, “sleepable” though. I felt as if I was a caterpillar in a cocoon with the sleeping bag tightened around me.

I didn't have far to run back to the hostel in the morning
I didn’t have far to run back to the hostel in the morning

To be specific this is a quinzhee rather than an igloo. A quinzhee is built by hollowing out a pile of hardened snow whereas an igloo is made by cutting and assembling blocks. Quinzhee’s are more of a temporary shelter that might be used in survival situations and igloos are more permanent yet take more time and energy to build. This one was already built when I arrived, in the near future I plan on taking a shot at building an igloo!

Fortunately no bears, cougars or wolves had taken a fancy to my bed
Fortunately no bears, cougars or wolves had taken a fancy to my bed
7 thoughts on “Sleeping in an igloo”

    1. Good question. Once you’ve got a big pile of snow you can poke sticks a foot into the snow pile all over, then when you hollow it out from the inside you know you’ve gone far enough when you hit the sticks. The other method is just to hollow it out until you see sunlight through the roof – then stop!

Put your thoughts here...

